Best Concealed Carry Classes in Arizona – 2022 Reviewed

[page_hero_gravatar] | Last Updated: [modified_date]

Arizona - the state where you’ll find the real smell of ‘gun freedom’ - or is that just the pavement melting? Arizona is one of the most gun-friendly state in the US and allows any law-abiding citizen of the U.S to carry a firearm without any permits. 

However, there’s still a need to obtain the state concealed carry permit for some purposes. Let’s dig deeper into that and find the best of these classes in AZ. 

Arizona Concealed Carry Laws

Arizona is a free gun state which allows its residents or any other US citizen with a clear background to carry a gun without a permit. There are only 13 other states with such permitless carry laws. Any person who is at least 18 years of age can openly carry a firearm, and at least 21 years of age can conceal carry a firearm without a permit. 

Arizona is a ‘shall issue’ state and does not differ between residents and non-residents for carrying laws. The state honors CC permits of all 53 states and political subdivisions. Whereas 37 states have reciprocity with Arizona. There are 5 states (CO, MI, FL, PA, and SC) that have restricted reciprocity (honors only resident permits) with AZ.

An Arizona concealed carry permit exists only to abide by the reciprocity requirements when carrying in another state. You can conceal carry any loaded/unloaded firearm or any other lethal/non-lethal weapon without a permit into almost every location except some restricted premises. Along with places where there is a ‘no-carry’ sign. 

You are also not required to inform a police officer about carrying a weapon in your vehicle. Obtaining a permit requires you to take a state-mandated CC class or any other qualification that demonstrates your knowledge of handling firearms. 

A new permit costs $60 and is valid for 5 years from the date of issue. The processing of applications takes about 75 calendar days. 

List of the Best Arizona Concealed Carry Classes

While applying for a CC permit in AZ doesn’t specifically need you to complete a training class. Getting involved in one will help you learn the proper etiquette and some sharp tips for defense if the need arises. 

1. Sam's Shooters Emporium

Contact Info

  • Address: 2183 McCulloch Blvd, LHC, AZ 86403
  • Phone: 928-680-7000
  • Length of class: 8 hours (in one day or two 4 hour evening sessions)

Our Review of the Program

Sam’s shooters’ emporium takes pride in being the longest indoor shooting range in West Arizona. They have a 25-meter indoor range with insanely low range and rental fees. So it is an economical and great place to practice, even during inclement weather.

Regarding their CCW course, they have NRA certified instructors that take good care of you during the class. Groups of 5 people can ask for private classes at no extra cost!

The CCW classes are conducted thrice every month. Mostly on weekends so you can spare time. It is an 8-hour class that includes 6 hours of instruction and 2 hours of range time. You can also opt for two even sessions on two days if your schedule isn’t very flexible.

The classroom time is not boring and you’ll get examples and stories to help understand the concepts. The range of time is really fun as you are allowed to shoot 7 different handguns. You may bring your own, but the institute provides them, so don’t bother. However, you’ll still have to purchase the ammo from them.

These classes are super affordable, and you also pay the state fees to get a complete application packet in the end. So it’s both fun and useful.

Best CCW Class in Mesa AZ:
 Concealed AZ

Contact Info

  • Address: 135 N Center St #4172, Mesa, AZ 85211. Training at Bass Pro Shops in Mesa. At Mr. Silencer in East Mesa
  • Phone: 602-633-5833
  • Length of class: 4-5 hours

Our Review of the Program

We pulled this one up especially for our readers living in Mesa, Chandler, and Phoenix. This is the best CCW class you’ll find in Mesa. These classes are organized at Bass Pro Shops in Mesa and Mr. Silencer shops in the East Mesa area.

The registration and payment are completely online. Plus you have a detailed schedule calendar to choose dates. Classes are available almost 4 days a week so there are many spots to choose from.

The maximum size of each class is 10 students. Iit is only a classroom course though, so if you are interested in shooting you’ll have to look somewhere else. However, the best selling point for these classes is their money-back guarantee for unsatisfied participants. So you’ll either learn something of value or get your money back.

The classes have very low fees, which is quite obvious since there’s no range time. However, upon completion, you’ll receive two completed fingerprint cards, your certificate, and the AZ permit application. Plus an 80-page e-book for future reference.

These classes are geared towards legal and theoretical knowledge of carrying firearms in Arizona.

3. Safe Arizona Firearms Education

Contact Info

  • Address: 916 E. Baseline rd. Mesa, AZ 85204
  • Phone: 480-244-6315
  • Length of class: 4-5 hours depending upon course

Our Review of the Program

The S.A.F.E. classes are located in Mesa and offer private lessons for groups of up to 5 people across Arizona. They offer a myriad of courses (50+) and have specialized CCW courses for the AZ CC permit.

Classes are conducted almost thrice a week and sometimes two classes are available in a day. The class duration is about 4 hours and the range time is optional.

If you want a range session to be included in your class, it can be included at a small extra fee and cost for ammunition. The course fee covers only the classroom instruction and your certificate upon completion.

The course covers defensive pistol selection, legal knowledge, and ethics. The registration process is done online and is very quick. And the price is suitable given the inclusions of the course.

You can obtain a refund or reschedule your class after 48 hours of your pre-booked schedule. So there’s some ability for corrections without losing money.

This is a basic class that meets minimum requirements for obtaining the Arizona CC permit. But the option for a ton of different courses and perks makes it worth taking.

4. Arizona Defensive Firearms Training

Contact Info

  • Address: Ben Avery Shooting Range, 4044 W Black Canyon Blvd, Phoenix, Arizona 85086
  • Phone: 602-200-0606
  • Length of class: 2 hours as of now.

Our Review of the Program

The ADFT classes are good for people who have some knowledge of handling firearms and want to learn more about obtaining a concealed carry permit. The institute has been running since 1992 and has taught thousands of students in CCW and other skills.

Their instructors are among the most qualified and experienced veterans and serving police officers in the USA. They are offering the 2-hour classroom only course as of now due to COVID-19 restrictions. But normally they have a 4-hour class including a range session.

The course includes law, restricted carrying spaces, self-defense mindset, and law enforcement interaction. With the best part being that the class is conducted by a police officer.

The classes are conducted about three times a week and the course fees include your certificate and fingerprinting.

The course will cost almost twice the cheapest course in AZ, but it has its perks. You’ll be taught by an experienced police officer in a very calm setting and will also receive fingerprinting, which mostly costs around $20 and is sometimes a hidden fee.

5. Arizona Home Defense

Contact Info

  • Address: Ben Avery Shooting Range, 4044 W Black Canyon Blvd, Phoenix, AZ 85086
  • Phone: 602-926-7540
  • Length of class: 2 hours

Our Review of the Program

The classes conducted by AHD are very informative and scenario-based. Or in simpler words, short but informative. The instructor, Virgil is quite famous if you read the reviews. This is a 2 hour CCW class that is all classroom-based with no live range time. You can also opt for the basic pistol course combo that’ll bring down the price of the CCW course.

The course covers all basic and critical information including engagement scenarios and carry techniques. Plus, the instructor presents all this in a very engaging manner. The classes have a one-on-one type of environment.

These classes are conducted about 2-3 times each week. The days are not pre-decided, but you can always check their calendar on the website to pre-schedule your visit.

The course fee includes two fingerprint cards and fingerprinting, CCW application form, pre-addressed envelope, and a certificate of training. So you are all ready to apply for your permit.

The institute offers a lot of different courses covering tactical training, rifle, shotgun, and handgun training. Along with advanced level courses so you can prepare yourself for such situations.

6. Insight Firearms Training Development

Contact Info

  • Address: 6969 East State Route 69, Prescott Valley AZ 86314
  • Phone: 928-708-9208
  • Length of class: 8 hours

Our Review of the Program

These classes are good for beginners as well as experienced civilians or serving officers. Since they train police, military personnel and also have courses for instructors.

This is by far the most extensive and detailed course on our list. Even in the state of Arizona. This is equivalent to the courses mandated by some of the most gun-restrictive states in the US.

The 8-hour course covers basic firearms handling, legal knowledge, marksmanship, mental state management, storage, and maintenance of weapons. The class is concluded with a written test and a range session.

The class requires you to bring your own handgun, ammo, and gear. However, you can call them for assistance with handgun selection.

The most extraordinary thing about this course is that the instructor helps you with obtaining a proper mental setup for concealed carry and handling inclement situations.

8 hours is enough to properly learn about the in’s and out’s of concealed carry. Especially if you are a newbie, or want deep insights into this art.

7. Semperfire Concealed Weapons Training

Contact Info

  • Address: 2700 Woodlands Vil. #300-454. Flagstaff, AZ 86001
  • Phone: (928) 525-2702
  • Length of class: 4 hours or more/less. Call to confirm

Our Review of the Program

The instructor/rangemaster of this institute, Mike Manning is a decorated Marine veteran and a retired police officer. He has real-life experiences from Vietnam as a recon sniper and has nearly *too* much knowledge and experience to give.

He offers three different courses, one of which is the AZ CCW class. The training and certification fees are very low, and the major chunk of the course fee is for the permit application and fingerprinting.

The course includes everything from classroom instruction to applying. The course covers legal info, mental conditioning, weapons selection, marksmanship training, and other important parts.

This is not an institute setup but rather a good ‘ol gentleman who is willing to share his knowledge and keep you prepared for any self-defense situations.

The classes are all pre-scheduled and mentioned on their website. However, you can always call and ask for a special group event if you want to learn with your friends/family.

Conceal Carry Classes in Arizona Comparison

Check out this summary of the best concealed carry classes in Arizona. These classes have been compiled based upon their expertise, pricing, and level of support in the application process. 

IMAGEPRODUCT
  • Longest indoor shooting range in western Arizona
  • 6 hours class and two hours range with 7 handguns
  • Optional private classes at no extra cost
View Latest Price →
  • Complete classes with regularly organized events
  • Certified NRA instructors and factory armorers
  • Satisfaction with 100% money refund guarantee
View Latest Price →
  • Pre-organized calendar for better event planning
  • Basic courses and pre-training packages
  • Good value-for-money courses and packages
View Latest Price →
  • Course includes self defense and law training
  • Law enforcement veteran and certified instructors
  • Specific pistol, light handgun and carbine courses
View Latest Price →
  • Everything from basic to tactical and combat class
  • More emphasis on range and field training
  • Supportive staff helps you pick the right course
View Latest Price →
  • Courses for civilians law enforcement and military
  • Special courses designed for women shooters
  • Private lessons available on demand
View Latest Price →
  • Covers mental conditioning and marksmanship lesson
  • Very inexpensive hourly fees. Great for low-budget
  • Unique and realistic lesson plans
View Latest Price →

Arizona Concealed Carry Permit Renewal

The Arizona concealed carry permit is valid for 5 years. The concealed weapons permit unit (CWPU) of ADPS mails a renewal packet 90 days before the expiry of a holder’s permit. 

You have to complete the form, add a $43 cashier’s check for renewal fees and mail it back using the pre-addressed envelope, or drop it by. There’s a 60 day grace period to reapply after the expiration of your permit. Additionally, you don’t have to retake a training course for renewal. 

Conclusion

While the state allows open and concealed carry without a permit, you should still obtain a CC permit to honor reciprocity and also express to checking officers that you have gone through the legal process to carry a weapon. 

People Also Ask

Find answers to some common queries and conceptions about concealed carry permits in AZ to stay well informed.

What States Recognize Arizona Concealed Carry Permit?

There are a total of 37 states that recognize the Arizona concealed carry permit.11 of these are permitless carry states. The other 26 are AL, CO, DE, FL, GA, ID, IA, IN, LA, MN, MI, NC, ND, NV, NM, NE, OH, OK, PA, SC, TN, TX, UT, WA, WI, WY. Whereas AZ honors the CC permits of all 53 states and political subdivisions. 

How Much Does a Concealed Carry Permit Cost in Arizona?

The state fees for a new permit application is $60. Plus the cost of CCW classes ranges anywhere between $50 to $90. Or even more, if you take personal classes. So in total, a CC permit will cost between $110 - $200. 

How Long Does it Take to Get CCW in Arizona?

The official state processing time for a concealed carry permit application is 75 calendar days. The ADPS takes 60 days for completing various checks and verifications, and 15 days more for issuing the permit. 

Is Carrying a Gun in a Backpack Considered Concealed?

Yes. A concealed weapon means it is completely out of sight. If the gun is partially visible, it will be considered as an open carry. So if a gun is completely inside a backpack, it is considered concealed.



Ankit Kumar is an engineer turned writer who specializes in topics related to firearms, gun safety and weapon tech. His passion towards enrolling in the Army drifted his interest towards light and heavy firearms. He’s a qualified competitive air rifle shooter and an avid nature lover. His other areas of expertise include survival, prepping and firearms/ammo storage. When he’s not writing, he’s either learning a new skill, trekking or enjoying a long drive.