Best Concealed Carry Classes in Virginia – 2021 Reviewed

| Last Updated: June 2, 2021

Virginia is an easy state when it comes to gun laws. However, some recent amendments in the law have created a slight change in some of its parts. Obtaining a permit for concealed carry is quite easy and quick. Let’s dig deeper into the facts.

Virginia Concealed Carry Laws

Virginia is a ‘shall issue’ state and grants concealed carry permits to residents and non-residents. Open carry is allowed without a permit for anyone if a person is at least 18 years of age and legally eligible. 

Concealed carry is legal for Virginia residents with a valid Handgun Permit (HP) and non-residents with any state CC permit. Since Virginia honors the concealed carry permits of all 50 states. 

Virginia has concealed carry reciprocity with 35 states, and the minimum age to CC is 21 years. Applying for a permit requires a person to present certification for a valid firearms training course that has been approved by the state. There’s no necessity of taking a CCW class since other qualifications like NRA national level certification and Hunter Ed certifications, etc are also deemed valid. Additionally, CCW classes can be taken online or in-person. 

The application fees for a new and renewal CC permit is $50 for residents and $100 for non-residents. The processing time is 45 days and a permit is valid for a period of five years from the date of issuance. 

A concealed handgun permit doesn’t allow you to carry weapons other than a handgun. However, ‘No Weapons Allowed’ signs have no force unless posted in legally off-limit areas. 

List of the Best Virginia Concealed Carry Classes

We have shortlisted and compiled the best concealed carry classes in Virginia. Each of these has its own specialty and popularity. But overall, these are the best classes you’ll find in the state. 

1. TAC-Solutions

Contact Info

  • Address: 10418 Hull Street Rd, Classes at Bob's Sport Shop, Richmond Virginia United States 23112
  • Phone: 804-874-2344
  • Length of class: 4 hours

Our Review of the Program

The 4-hour interactive class is taught by Dave Van Buren. The owner and lead instructor of TAC-Solutions. He is a retired Richmond SWAT team officer and a graduate of the F.B.I. Counter Sniper School with a lot of knowledge to impart.

He calls his course ‘can you survive 3 seconds’ and has created it after months of iterations. This is a classroom only course with no test, no gun and no shooting required.

The price of the classes is amazing considering the knowledge you'll acquire. The course includes state laws, strategies to avoid an encounter, drawing/holstering the weapon, and muscle memory. In short, you’ll receive the best theoretical knowledge you can find anywhere.

Taking the class will also qualify you for the Florida non-resident CCW permit if you want to apply. There’s quite a fair amount of class slots available, so the schedule will not be a problem.

There’s also an option for private one-on-one classes and some other advanced level courses if you want to be prepared. Taking instructions from a retired SWAT officer who has been in many encounters will definitely be useful.

2. Virginia Gun Class

Contact Info

  • Address: Multiple locations across Virginia
  • Phone: 888-621-5136
  • Length of class: 2 hours (online or offline)

Our Review of the Program

The Virginia Gun Class offers a comprehensive CCW course that offers realistic and very useful knowledge about carrying, handling, and using a weapon for self-defense. Plus its aftermath.

The course is available online and offline. The offline live class can be 2-2.5 hrs in length, whereas the online class has 12 modules of 10 minutes each. The online course is not some carousel of slides, but real information from a live instructor.

The classes are quite engaging and since the institute trains thousands of participants each year across VA. They absolutely know what to include in the course and how to keep it engaging.

The instructor will also help you with handgun selection if you don’t have one already. The most interesting lesson is the ‘violent encounters and their aftermath’, where you’ll get realistic expectations for proper inference of such situations and your expected actions.

The cost of this course is pretty low, and since you can take it from the comfort of your home. It becomes an even better value for money. Another interesting factor is that you can cancel anytime without incurring a cancellation fee.

3. 1st Virginia Public Safety Training Academy

Contact Info

  • Address: 808A S Military Hwy, Virginia Beach, VA 23464
  • Phone: 757-965-5379
  • Length of class: 3 hours

Our Review of the Program

This institute is geared towards providing training for the purpose of employment. They train security officers, K9 dogs, armored car courses, and everything else you’ll find for private security personnel.

The institute is a very hospitable place, with all the staff being very friendly. The chief instructor is called Lt. and runs the place with his wife. They also offer women-only courses that open up good scope for a comfortable learning environment for women.

The course covers basic handgun knowledge, shooting fundamentals, cleaning and storage, and a range qualification. That’s what you don’t generally find in Virginia CHP classes. So if you are planning to take a real firearm and shoot it on the range, this course is for you.

The price is inclusive of the training and gear, so its quite reasonable. The women’s only course is a great combo that explains about handguns and chemical sprays. Which can come in handy in a real-life scenario.

4. Protect and Defend

Contact Info

  • Address: 4809-B Eisenhower Ave, Alexandria, VA 22304, United States
  • Phone: 703-228-9949
  • Length of class: 4 hours

Our Review of the Program

The highest-rated CHP training academy in Northern VA. You can check out their google reviews if you want. This is a one-stop-shop where you can find a great concealed handgun training course, along with buying or transferring firearms.

Their CHP course is a multi-state concealed carry course that meets the state requirements of VA, FL, and many other states. That’s what their fees imply and are totally justified for.

The instructor Andy covers all the aspects of firearm handling and CC etiquettes with some extra tips about properly carrying weapons and tackling a self-defense situation. You can also opt for the UTAH CC permit course for a small extra fee, after the conclusion of the class.

They also have a women-only course that is conducted on scheduled intervals and involves only women as learners and instructors. Additionally, the course class is conducted once a month and can be registered/paid for via online mode through their website.

5. Defensive Tactics of Virginia Inc

Contact Info

  • Address: 2488 North Landing Road, #108, Virginia Beach, VA, 23456
  • Phone: 757-477-7126
  • Length of class: Please contact

Our Review of the Program

This is a store plus training institute that offers comprehensive firearm services. Their employees are very respectful and diligently solve your queries without being condescending.

A concealed carry class for VA and UT is organized every second Saturday of the month. Where the instructor tries to impart practical knowledge about handling a gun and real-life situations.

The class is a common session to apply for the VA and UT permits and the price of the combo is just perfect. You can enroll in the classes via their website and pay upfront. The schedule of your class will be communicated beforehand if the classes are already full.

The staff assists you in purchasing firearms after you have taken your class if you wish.

6. Capital Defense Instruction LLC

Contact Info

  • Address: 3100 Clarendon Blvd, Suite 200-052, Arlington, VA 22201
  • Phone: 1-800-528-5862
  • Length of class: 4 hours

Our Review of the Program

Capital Defense Instruction LLC packs a lot of good firearm training courses together, and one of them is the CCW class. It is a combined CCW class that’ll help you apply for the state of VA and UT.

The institute only accepts online registrations and prepayment. Their schedule is quite strict and not attending your class will result in forfeiting of your paid amount. There’s no availability for rescheduling, so make sure you make it in time.

The class has a very lively environment and you are allowed to ask questions anytime. The class covers all the basics of weapon handling and concealed carry.

Classes are conducted about 4-5 times each month and fill in fast. So you better register at the earliest possible time. The course fee is more than the other classes on this list. But quite justifiable since the course includes VA and UT certification, plus fingerprinting and photo processing.

The institute also offers women-only classes and fun events to keep female participants engaged during the course and after it. They even have a course to become an NRA instructor, so there is a lot of learning and even career options there.

7. Freedom Shooting Center

Contact Info

  • Address: 5070 Virginia Beach Boulevard, Virginia Beach, VA 23462
  • Phone: 757-227-9130
  • Length of class: 3 hours

Our Review of the Program

The shop, range, and classroom of the Freedom Shooting Center is an amazing place to be. The environment is very energetic and their staff is the most polite representative you can find in a CCW class.

Coming to the course, they offer a 3-hour class that covers everything from law & basic handling to live firing exercise on the range. They have a state-of-the-art range with the best shooting equipment and ventilation. They also have an indoor obstacle course if you opt-in for other advanced courses.

The fees for their CCW course seems steep at first, however they include all the necessary items including gear, handgun, and ammo. Plus, the amazing indoor range you’ll get to experience shooting in.

Classes are available 6 days a week and can be enrolled via their website. They have another 12 advanced courses that can be taken if you want to train yourself to the next level.

You can also opt for a private one-on-one class if you have the need and budget to pay for it. Overall, their classes are very dedicated and comprehensive and cover every big and small factor in detail.

Virginia Concealed Carry Classes Comparison

Check out the table view of the best concealed carry classes in Virginia. You can choose them according to location and affordability that best suits you. 

IMAGEPRODUCT
  • Super experienced and decorated ex-SWAT instructors
  • FL included with VA class with shooting requirement
  • Easy schedule as classes are held every second day
View Latest Price →
  • Emphasis on handgun basics, selection and accuracy
  • Course includes info about gear and gadgets
  • USCCA and NRA certified instructors
View Latest Price →
  • Multiple training locations according to your needs
  • Institution focuses towards professional training
  • All instructors are ex-police or army veterans
View Latest Price →
  • Northern VA's highest ranked training academy
  • Multistate concealed carry course held once a month
  • Course geared toward learners of all skill levels
View Latest Price →
  • Monthly course held on second Saturday each month
  • Offers combined VA and UT CCP course for apt price
  • Comprehensive gun store helps you choose a gun
View Latest Price →
  • Multi-state course covers VA and UT CCP permits
  • Private classes for groups are available upon request
  • Special ladies-only classes organized upon rquest
View Latest Price →
  • Introductory CCW course covers all basic steps
  • 3hr course and price inclusive of everything
  • Iindividualized private instruction by appointment
View Latest Price →

Conclusion

Virginia allows open carry and is a ‘shall issue’ state for residents and non-residents. Applying for a CHP costs $50 for first-timers and renewals and takes about 45 days to process. Virginia has reciprocity with 35 states and honors the permit of every US state. 

People Also Ask

Let’s jump into the FAQ section and learn about some important queries and conceptions about concealed carrying a handgun in Virginia.

Can You Get a Concealed Carry Permit Online in VA?

You can download the application form from the state police website. However, you have to complete the form in writing, attach the supporting documentation, and mail it to the circuit court or county. Non-resident applications shall be forwarded to the state police firearm transaction center.

How Long Does It Take to Get a Concealed Carry Permit in Virginia?

The official processing time of concealed carry permit applications in Virginia is 45 days. Renewal can be done by mail and should be sent to the court 90 days (or max 180 days) before the expiration of your permit. 

How Much Does a Concealed Carry Permit Cost in Virginia? 

The cost of taking a concealed carry class certification can range anywhere between $75-$150. Combining that with the state fees. A CC permit in Virginia can cost between $120-$200 for residents and $175-$250 for non-resident applicants. 

Can I Open Carry a Loaded Handgun in Virginia?

Yes. You can openly carry a loaded handgun in Virginia if you are at least 21 years of age. Open carry of rifles and shotguns is allowed for people of at least 18 years of age. Open carry is permitless and only restricts taking guns to places prohibited by statute. 

What States Recognize a Virginia Concealed Carry Permit?

The Virginia concealed carry reciprocity is in effect with 35 states of the US. Plus, Virginia honors the concealed carry permits of all other US states.



Ankit Kumar is an engineer turned writer who specializes in topics related to firearms, gun safety and weapon tech. His passion towards enrolling in the Army drifted his interest towards light and heavy firearms. He’s a qualified competitive air rifle shooter and an avid nature lover. His other areas of expertise include survival, prepping and firearms/ammo storage. When he’s not writing, he’s either learning a new skill, trekking or enjoying a long drive.