Best Concealed Carry Classes in Florida – 2022 Review

[page_hero_gravatar] | Last Updated: [modified_date]

So you’re looking to get a concealed carry permit for the state of Florida. Well then, this is the right place to get answers to all your questions. There are 36 states that honor the Florida CC license and 35 state licenses that Florida honors. The in’s and out’s of this entire act can be confusing. So we compiled the data in a simplistic manner, along with a list of the best-concealed carry classes in Florida. 

Florida Concealed Carry Laws 

CC laws in Florida are quite similar to other states, but with one good exception. The Florida permit allows you to carry other weapons which are not firearms (knives, batons, taser guns, etc) in a concealed manner. The license is issued by the Florida Department of Agriculture and Consumer Services (FDACS) and application can be filed via an online portal, mail, or physical visit at any of the 8 regional offices or a participating Tax Collector's Office across Florida. 

The eligibility requirements are almost universal in every US state. You have to be a resident US citizen (soldiers deployed overseas must submit the document) of at least 21 years of age, be of sound mind, and not have been convicted of a violent crime or two or more DUI convictions in the past 3 years. Plus, you must display competency with firearms by completing an approved firearms training course. The disqualification rate is about 1.5% of total applications, so it’s quite rare to not receive a permit. 

The class shall include range time with live ammo, so not everything is online. The training requirements are outlined in Section 790.06(2)(h) of the state law and accept 7 possible ways to satisfy these requirements. 

The duration between application and grant of the license can take anywhere between 20-50 days (max. is 90 days). But once you receive a license you can CCW in non-restricted areas and also purchase a firearm without the 2 day waiting period. 

List of the Best Concealed Carry Classes in Florida 

Since it is necessary to obtain proper training from a concealed carry class running a state-approved course. It is imperative you choose the best classes which provide value, rather than just filling up seats and making money. For that, we have compiled a list of the best CCW classes in Florida. 

1. Stone Hart’s Gun Club and Indoor Range

Contact Info

  • Address: 14280 SW 142 Street, Bay 206, Miami, Florida 33186. Also near Tamiami Executive Airport and the Lexus dealership on SW 136 Street and 137th Avenue
  • Phone: 305-255-4884
  • Length of class: 1-2 hours

Our Review of the Program

Stone Hart’s gun club is a firearms shop, plus a gun club with an amazing indoor range. The club organizes regular events to keep the community engaged and amused. The CC class emphasizes on the basics and dealing with the situation. The club offers 3 different CCW courses. One is recorded online material, second is a USCCA curriculum live zoom class and the third is a private class. All these are followed by a live firing exercise. 

The classes are also available in Spanish, which is an amazing feature for many Florida residents. Their indoor range is a big 16 lane setup which means you don’t have to wait for your turns or abide by an uncomfortable schedule. The range is well ventilated and equipped, plus you can have everything from ear protection to shooting benches on rent. Additionally, the range is good for magnum handguns and rifles up to 300 Winchester, so it is a great practice space too. 

2. Shooting Fever

Contact Info

  • Address: 12905 SW 132 Street, Suite #1, Miami, FL 33186
  • Phone: (786) 842-3771
  • Length of class: Please contact

Our Review of the Program

Shooting fever is a specialized store geared towards the concealed carry market. Since the store also provides CC classes, it will be a one-stop-shop for all your CC needs. The customer service of this place is second to none and the staff resolves even the tiniest bit of your problems over the phone. 

Coming to the CCW classes, the instructors are very friendly and witty. You’ll feel like being with a friend while attending the classes. They teach you all the in’s and out’s of gun handling along with precedents to let you grasp and remember the most of it in the long run. 

The classes are held at the store in Kendall, South Miami. The classes are mostly in-person and end with a live-fire session. Classes are held almost every Saturday and a minimum of 3 participants are required for the course to be conducted.  They might even have that 50% discount available at the moment, so you may check out their website for sure. 

3. Pantera Guns

Contact Info

  • Address: Pantera Guns (West Airport Centre), 7365 NW 36th St, Miami, FL 33166
  • Phone: (305) 629-9980
  • Length of class: 2-3 hours

Our Review of the Program

Pantera Guns is a big retailer of firearms located near the Miami Airport and a renowned store among the residents of South Florida. Their concealed weapon permit course is actually an NRA basic pistol course aimed towards teaching you the basics of firearms handling. So the course is suitable for beginners who plan on buying a handgun and carrying it for self-defense. 

Their instructors are all NRA-certified with over 25 years of combined experience. Which is good. Their course is very short and lasts about 2-3 hours and includes live-fire training. They need you to bring your own eye/ear protection and a box of 9mm ammo. There’s no option for renting these things out and you have to rather purchase them. 

They do allow you to bring your own handgun(s). But also provide you with a demo 9mm handgun if you don’t have one. That’s the only thing complimentary in the course. 

But as already mentioned, this course is for newbies to learn the basics. If you are a pro and just after the safety certificate, you can use their services. But there’s nothing much to learn here for pros. 

4. Charlie's Armory

Contact Info

  • Address: 7147 West Flagler St. Miami, FL 33144
  • Phone: (305) 266-0996
  • Length of class: Depends

Our Review of the Program

Great guns, great service, and great deals. The owner Charlie and his staff are very polite and helpful people. It is a small but well-stocked store that also runs concealed carry classes. The schedule and duration of classes will depend upon your level of expertise. 

The classes are taught by NRA certified instructors and training counselors who give you a detailed overview of handling firearms. Especially during a self-defense situation.

If the store falls in your vicinity,  it is better you reach out and check on the schedule and other details of the classes. Additionally, their staff will help you find the best and most affordable concealed carry handgun for you after you get your permit. 

5. Elias Eloim Security Academy

Contact Info

  • Address: 16184 N.W. 27th Ave, Miami Gardens, Fl. 33054
  • Phone: 786 262 1107
  • Length of class: 4 hours

Our Review of the Program

The instructor of these classes is Sergeant Serge, an ex-police force, tae-kwon-do specialist, certified firearms instructor, and a bail bondsman. This academy trains security officers, so you can comprehend the level and amount of knowledge you can grab.

Among their other offerings is a concealed carry weapons course. Their class hours are quite flexible with an option for online classes. The CC course is also quite affordable and the training and insights you receive for carrying concealed are just awesome. 

Most people visit these classes for obtaining their Class D security license or armed security license. So it is a good chance that you’ll find a lot of helpful and supportive individuals to learn something extra. 

Overall, these classes are a great option for people who are planning on taking security jobs as a career. It is quite obvious that an academy that prepared armed and unarmed security officers will have a perfect concealed carry course including the minuscule of details. 

6. Miami Gun Classes

Contact Info

  • Address: Miami Beach, Midtown Miami, and Hollywood
  • Phone: 305-695-0601 
  • Length of class: 3 Hours (2 hours online + 1-hour range)

Our Review of the Program

This is a highly appreciated gun class by people who have taken the CCW course. The instructor, David, has a lot of knowledge and takes a practical approach while teaching. Giving examples of real-life situations to keep the class interesting and informative. 

This is a 3-hour course in total that includes two hours of classes and 1 hour on the range. The classes are conducted online and divided into three major segments. The first part covers firearm safety, the second part deals with the laws of carrying and using a firearm when needed. The third part covers firearm handling that includes stance, trigger handling, grip, and other associated knowledge. 

These classes are accessible for all South Florida residents including those in Dade, Broward, and Palm Beach counties. You also get an option to attend 1:1 private classes if you need so. 

The instructor has over 25 years of experience and makes the environment perfect for learning. The course is very affordable and the best part is that the price is inclusive of firearms and ammunition. However, there might be an extra range fee.  The classroom and range are at the same location, so you don’t have to drive around. 

7. License 2 Carry

Contact Info

  • Address: 1414 N.W. 107 Avenue Suite 409 Miami, Florida 33172
  • Phone: (305) 282-4486
  • Length of class: 4 hours class plus range time (9:00 AM to 1:00 PM)

Our Review of the Program

Let’s talk about inclusions first. The course has a reasonable and affordable fee that includes the tuition fee, a rented firearm, rented eye/ear protection, 15-20 rounds of 9mm ammo, and the range fee. On top of that, you are not required to pay the fees upfront. You can register for free and pay the fees after the completion of the course. 

The class size is very low to facilitate proper learning. Along with a relaxed approach. The course is good for both beginners and experienced shooters. Since the instructor is very knowledgeable and hospitable. 

The course includes 4 hours of classroom training with examples and practical information. The class follows a multimedia format for revisions and all questions are answered prior to completion. 

You’ll be taken to a nearby fully-equipped shooting range for live practice and that’ll complete the course. Another great thing is that these classes are available 7 days a week. So schedule issues are out of the question. 

The trainer George Caro is a renowned and well-respected instructor with an innate sense of compassion towards his students. 

Florida Concealed Carry Renewal

A Florida concealed carry license is good for 7 years once granted. FDACS will promptly send you a reminder mail three months before the date of your license’ expiry. You can use this mail to apply for renewal via online, post, or in-person means. 

The renewal fee for concealed carry licenses is $45 and your license will be good for another 7 years. However, you must note that regional offices do not accept cash and you must pay by personal check, cashier’s check, money order, or credit/debit card.

There’s also a $15 late fee if you apply after the expiry of your license before a period of six months. Further than six months and you’ll have to apply for a fresh license. 

The renewal process is quite easy. You just have to take the reminder mail you received, along with a photo ID and payment mode to the regional office. Or you can also do it via the internet or mail. 

If you’d like to get your permit renewed within an hour or so. It is better you visit the office in person. As the other two methods will take about a couple of weeks to suffice. 

Conceal Carry Classes in Florida Comparison

Florida has a ton of concealed carry classes. Each of them differs in the expertise of their instructors, equipment, class durations, and deliverables. We have compiled a list of the seven best CC classes in Florida to ease the first step for you. 

IMAGEPRODUCT
  • Best CCW classes in Miami, Florida
  • Indoor facility exceeds OSHA & NIOSH requirements
  • Training assisted with a comprehensive simulator
View Latest Price →
  • CC course offered at Kendall, South Miami
  • Courses are conducted on Saturday each week
  • Great price and a minimum of 3 students required
View Latest Price →
  • One day short 2-3 hour course with live firing
  • NRA certified instructors with 25 years experience
  • Designed in-line with the NRA basic pistol course
View Latest Price →
  • One of the best classes and store in South Florida
  • Complete CCW and security courses
  • Knowledgeable and friendly no-nonsense staff
View Latest Price →
  • Great for people wanting self defense training
  • Serving Miami Dade and Broward counties since 1994
  • The agency trains security officers hence profound
View Latest Price →
  • Inexpensive classes with good learning environment
  • Offers personalized classes to suit individuals
  • Very learned and supportive instructors
View Latest Price →
  • Great beginners courses with no hidden fees
  • Classes are available 7 days a week
  • All instructors are licensed, insured and certified
View Latest Price →

Conclusion

A Florida concealed carry course can be around 3-4 hours in length and lets you obtain a certificate to apply for Florida concealed carry permit, honored in 34 US states. The permit allows you to carry a concealed handgun in a holster and any other non-firearm weapons. The duration between application and approval is roughly around 40 days. 

People Also Ask

Concealed carrying a firearm can be tricky. But there are certain basic factors that’s all you need to know before taking a class. 

How Long is a Concealed Carry Class Certificate Good for in Florida?

A Concealed Carry Class Certificate is good for as long as you do not violate any eligibility requirements to apply for a license. Such as being convicted in the past three years, or having any medical disability hindering from using a firearm. 

Can You Take a Concealed Carry Class Online in Florida?

Yes. In fact, a lot of instructors offer live online classes or downloadable video courses for applicants to study from. It is only the live firearm training in the presence of an instructor that matters. The minimum course duration is 3 hours and maybe more. 

Do You Have to Tell the Police You Have a Gun in the Car in Florida?

No. A concealed carry permit holder is not obliged to inform a police officer about carrying a weapon unless asked. Additionally, any non CC permit holder above 18 years of age can carry a weapon in their car if it’s securely stored and not immediately accessible. 

How Much is a Concealed Carry Class in Florida?

It depends from class to class. Plus also upon the inclusions of your course, range time, gear, and other factors. Concealed carry classes in Florida can cost anywhere between $40 to $125. Probably even more if you plan on taking private classes. 

Do Veterans Have to Take Concealed Carry Class in Florida?

Not if the veteran has been honorably discharged from service. Veterans can present their DD-214 (certificate of release or discharge from active duty) as an acceptable proof of firearms training to apply for a CC license. 

How Long is the Florida Concealed Weapons Class?

The minimum duration of a concealed weapons class in Florida is 3 hours. This includes online or offline lectures and a live firing session. The state allows instructors to decide the duration of these classes, so the class you take may vary. 



Ankit Kumar is an engineer turned writer who specializes in topics related to firearms, gun safety and weapon tech. His passion towards enrolling in the Army drifted his interest towards light and heavy firearms. He’s a qualified competitive air rifle shooter and an avid nature lover. His other areas of expertise include survival, prepping and firearms/ammo storage. When he’s not writing, he’s either learning a new skill, trekking or enjoying a long drive.